Thread: Willow Creek / Little willow creek report 7/28/16

Default Willow Creek / Little willow creek report 7/28/16

Went out last night and gave my new fly rod a workout (well tried to work it out). drifted beads for a few hours last night about 3 hours at willow creek and an hour and change at little willow just to try and get the hang of things (I am no expert to fly fishing so keep that in mind). Lost 1 nice bow at willow creek on a apricot colored bead and had several missed opportunities on smaller fish. Saw a few firetrucks swim by and the occasional humpy. Watched a guy trying to snag kings who lost one at the rocks thankfully after that and a few choice words to him he packed up and left. Saw a second person show up and tried to do the same thing and also lost one at the rocks then he left.

I then headed up to little willow to check on things. Landed a fat long nose sucker but nothign else. Saw a few silvers jumping up stream where I was fishing but nothing great in numbers. Water color was pretty cloudy so I was trying to run brighter beads to see what would work. I will be heading back out tomorrow to try my luck again and will follow up.

"Whoever said the pen is mightier than the sword obviously never encountered automatic weapons."

Thanks for the update. I was wondering how high the water is after the rain we have been having.

water was up a good amount at little willow. Willow creek was higher than usual (I live less than a mile away and have been keeping an eye on it). Was trying to figure out the right split shot combo to get a solid drift. I was bouncing between 2 and 3 splits depending on area of the river.

"Whoever said the pen is mightier than the sword obviously never encountered automatic weapons."

What size bead were you fishing? That could have a lot to do with hits or lack thereof.