Thread: Snagging Set-Up

Default Snagging Set-Up

I am new at this snagging, will be down Ninilchik for halibut and want to do some evening fishing around Homer, Kenia, and Seward for a weeks. I am trying to put together snagging rigs, but not sure what works best. I am thinking three options:

Weighted treble hook tied directly to line,
    Other setup is lead weight with 30" line leader to single 3/0 hook, or would a treble be better????
    Third option is pixee's tied to line? is this legal?? these reg's suck the big one...

Please advise with your opinions on what you think are the best set-up's, I am getting old and just what to pull in a few salmon on the rod and real, just what to be legal in the Kenai-Homer area..

Please advise.. thanks... john_alaska@yahoo.com

Where do you plan on going snagging?
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Snagging is illegal around here and if we catch ya we will beat you with devils club

Apparently, it's legal at some times in the salt South of Anchor Pt. Light, tho I can't imagine why.
    Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 8.53.58 PM.jpg
    ...he who knows nothing is nearer to truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods & errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It
    #Resist

It opened in the fishing lagoon in Homer today, according to a friend of mine.

Go with a proper snagging hook. A weighted treble is all you need and is deadly effective when used properly. Be sure that you review the regulations for the area you're in before doing so.