Thread: K bay shrimp

Default K bay shrimp

I am new to shrimping and the Kbay area. I will be staying at the Sea Star public use cabin for a few days the middle of July. Is there any shrimping in the area that I should bring my traps for? If so is there a special permit needed? Any advice is appreciated.

There is no open shrimping or crabbing in K Bay.

And the steamer clam possession limit has been reduced to I think 80 in total combination (check the regs).

I think you'll find the best shrimping runs from Whittier to Valdez. The Sound end of PWS and Resserection Bay aren't worth shrimping, even though you can shrimp in those waters. I wouldn't expect K-bay to be productive shrimp habitat.
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.

I hit resurrection for 3 days a couple weeks ago. I went where the bio told me and we varied our depths and worked our pots in areas that would have hammerred them in pws and I got 4 shrimp.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Bullelkklr View Post
    I hit resurrection for 3 days a couple weeks ago. I went where the bio told me and we varied our depths and worked our pots in areas that would have hammerred them in pws and I got 4 shrimp.

That's 4 more than I've herd of anyone else getting in resurrection

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

I was actually outside of resurrection bay. 50 miles from seward harbor.

Thanks for replies. That answered my question.

Quote Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
    I wouldn't expect K-bay to be productive shrimp habitat.
    Actually there are a few good shrimping spots there.
    My dads neighbor used to commercial fish for them in K-Bay 30+ years ago.
    His wife was telling me about some of their better spots.