Thread: How to fish for summer trout

Default How to fish for summer trout

Im fairly new to trout fishing, and I was wondering how to fish for trout in the summer. I know how to fish for trout in the very late summer and beginning of fall when all the salmon are spawning because thats easy. All you need are beads or flesh patterns. But I have very little knowledge on how to catch trout when the salmon are running and healthy in the middle of summer. Any advice is much appreciated.

Figure out what they are eating. There will be bugs on top, bugs underneath & little fish....

When in doubt tie on a egg-sucking-leech.

Flesh flies and beads will work 12 months out of the year. Aside from these, sculpin or leech patterns, fry, various nymphs and dry flies, and mouse patterns are other common flies to use during the summer months.
    Your bait stinks and your boat is ugly

I always start with a bead on a signal light

Sent while partying
    I will never be a "Prostaffer" its not that I am not good enough
    but its because I refuse to pimp products for free.