Thread: Homer from shore (or anywhere else on lower Kenai Peninsula) in two weeks!?

Default Homer from shore (or anywhere else on lower Kenai Peninsula) in two weeks!?

So I'll be doing some camping and fishing in Homer here in about 2 weeks (June 30-July4th-ish) and I was wondering what to expect if I try to do some fishing out of Homer from shore. I don't have the money to get a charter, but I have a lot of fishing experience. My concern is that it may be too early for silvers from the beach, and too late for a King. What about pinks, they are at least fun on light tackle. Thoughts? Gear to use? Timing (tides, time of day, etc)?

If we go bust in Homer, the thought is to try Kasilof for reds. I know if a campground with decent access to the river, but I was wondering if there are any other spots a person could get to without a boat (I suppose I do have a canoe, but I am a little leery of trying to navigate the river in it). Again, any advice would be MUCH appreciated.

Not looking to necessarily "fill the freezer", but I would like to catch at least a few fish.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by wilfred86 View Post
    So I'll be doing some camping and fishing in Homer here in about 2 weeks (June 30-July4th-ish) and I was wondering what to expect if I try to do some fishing out of Homer from shore. I don't have the money to get a charter, but I have a lot of fishing experience. My concern is that it may be too early for silvers from the beach, and too late for a King. What about pinks, they are at least fun on light tackle. Thoughts? Gear to use? Timing (tides, time of day, etc)?

If we go bust in Homer, the thought is to try Kasilof for reds. I know if a campground with decent access to the river, but I was wondering if there are any other spots a person could get to without a boat (I suppose I do have a canoe, but I am a little leery of trying to navigate the river in it). Again, any advice would be MUCH appreciated.