Thread: Smoking Salmon question...

Question Smoking Salmon question...

I am relatively new to smoking fish so please take it easy on me in your responses. How long can you leave your fresh reds in a brine? I was planning on leaving it in the brine for about 10 hrs, then smoking for 10...but I will have to leave in the middle of the smoke session...so I am wondering how long I can leave it in the brine?

Thanks!
    When all else fails...ask your old-man.

AKArcher

Default Smok'in

AKArcher,

10 hours in the brine is no problem. I try to stick to 8 hrs in the brine, 8 hours drying, and 6-8hrs smoking. If you have to keep it longer in the brine just add more ice and remember as the ice melts it will dilute the brine so add more juice/sauce.

I dry mine in the garage on two sawhorses with 10 ft metal rails and then line up the oven racks with a small fan blowing over the whole thing. I wrap plastic around both rails and let is sag in-between to catch all the droppings so clean up is easier. Don't go past 8 hours and check on it occassionally because the fish can get too dried out. Remember to spray the racks with Pam or something similar so the fish comes off easier.

I have a tall homemade smoker so I have to rotate the racks from top to bottom for even smoking.

I don't know how you're going to cut out during the smoking phase, I have to change my wood chips about every 45 minutes.

This is the way I do it but If you talk to 10 different people you'll get 10 different ways to smoke salmon.

Hope some of this helps.

Jack