Thread: What to do before sitting in stand?

Default What to do before sitting in stand?

First, I would like to thank you all for your questions and comments. I like to read as much as possible and have gathered much need information. I am very new to baiting bears. One question I have is, what do you guys do before sitting in your stand? I'm afraid if I look around my scent will create something new and the bears won't be coming in. I've seen bear on camera but have not been able to get it to come in when I'm sitting. If anyone can share some ideas. This green horn will be very much appreciated!

Check the times the bears come into your stand. Id bet that it is nearly the same time every time they come in, in a pattern such as daily, everyother day, etc. Also, I make sure to scan the surroundings for bears, of course.. I was about 30 yards, or 5 more seconds from becoming a bear snack.. You never know what you will walk up on. What I do is take a piece of my clothing, like an old shirt or socks and hang them or leave them, so they get used to my scent... Not sure if it works, but something that I do does.. I personally dont believe after the bears start coming in that they would even car if your there or not, to them food is food.. I mean black bears get into neighborhoods loaded with people just for trash.. 1 person vs some quality pounds of food, who wouldnt take the bait, right??

I review trail cam footage over several days worth of activity to pattern the bears, I usually sit a few hours before they tend to hit the station make sure i piss far away from the station so im not doing the "dance" in the stand. as I walk in I throw a fair amount of small cut up chunks of maple bacon all through the woods and some around the barrel. climb the stand open a book and wait.

"Whoever said the pen is mightier than the sword obviously never encountered automatic weapons."

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!