Thread: Seeking information on inflatable boats.

Default Seeking information on inflatable boats.

Hello Everybody,

I am new to boating and have been doing a lot of research on inflatable boats. I am not exactly sure what to go for. I would like to use it for hunting and fishing. The areas I will be doing those activities in will be Quartz Lake, Upper Tangles Lakes (Denali Highway), and Clearwater Lake/River.

I have been looking at the 12.5 foot Seamax Ocean380.

I have questions about how the boats ride with some weight in them, i.e. two grown men, hunting gear, a couple of caribou or my two boys and I going out fishing. I understand that weight will have a factor no matter what, but with a powerful enough motor do they work as well as a regular boat?

Does the water pushing against the front of the boat while in motion have a big factor on speed an so forth?

How well do they hold up in the Alaskan environment?

I have spent a lot of time in various rivers and lakes in Alaska, so I know all about how depth can change really fast and all of that. Do these boats handle those type of changes? Example being running in to a sand bar and so forth.

I appreciate any and all advice and even some advice on what type of regular boat I can be looking at.

I am not looking to put a whole lot of money in to this since I am a beginner and just want to get something that will be safe for a couple of years to learn the ins and outs of it all.

Thanks in advance.

I own 20 inflatables and a host of rigid boats as well so I look at this with questions that should lead you to an answer.

-how many times per year do you expect to use the boat?
    -what type of water to you think you will be on? Whitewater, lakes, outboards?
    -do you expect to be using the boat in 5 years? 10?....
    -How many people do you expect to haul?

Ok now lets look at the price question.