Thread: Best QD Rings and bases

Default Best QD Rings and bases

Hey guys just bought a Weatherby Dangerous Game Rifle in 375 H&H and am looking to use quick detach rings on it to still utilize the open sights. I've never used them and was looking for your thoughts, opinions and experiences on this topic. Thanks for any input received.

My advise is to be sure you mount the scope so that the turret housing is firmly pushed up against the front ring, so as to stop scope shift under heavy recoil. There are several good brands available. I am fond of the EGW Base, if I really want quality. Quality cost more money.

NOTE: I would only use rings with square "LUGS"

https://www.egwguns.com/index.php?p=egw_store
    http://www.egwguns.com/index.php?p=catalog&parent=249&pg=1

I've been using a set of Talleys for about 25 years and if I had it to do over again they'd still be my first choice. If eye relief precludes AGL's advice, a very slight film of Clover Compound inside your rings will prevent any slippage too. http://www.talleymanufacturing.com/P...e-w-Lever.aspx
    ...he who knows nothing is nearer to truth than he whose mind is filled with falsehoods & errors. ~Thomas Jefferson
    I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief. ~Gerry Spence
    The last thing Alaska needs is another bigot. ~member Catch It
    #Resist

Got it. Great advice guys I appreciate it!

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Quote Originally Posted by akarmy View Post
    Hey guys just bought a Weatherby Dangerous Game Rifle in 375 H&H and am looking to use quick detach rings on it to still utilize the open sights. I've never used them and was looking for your thoughts, opinions and experiences on this topic. Thanks for any input received.
    I would suggest the Weaver Quad Locks. Or, the Leupold QRWs. Also, the PRWs, if you don't mind taking a wrench along.