Thread: Best Cessna 180 Floats?

Default Best Cessna 180 Floats?

Hi everybody. I'm getting ready to re-float my 1955 180. I have several thousand hours on a set of PK3000s. These are for sale on the East coast as they were not ready when I was. So.... the big question is do I seek a field approval for Aerocets, or go back to the tried and true 2870s? The PKs made a good boat and a clumsy airplane. Tough floats. Anybody want to weigh in? I'm a civilian pilot that ranges from Kodiak to Talkeetna.

I don't have the experience to steer you one way or another, but the Aerocets are STCd for the 180 (SA00137SE) so no field approval would be needed. If I had the money I'd be after the Aerocets for my 180 but that is based on reputation rather than experience.

Default Hmmm...

One thing aviation has taught me is that there is more to know than what I know. The STC covers back to 180A models. They got a little different starting then, 1957 I think? I bet they'd bolt right on though. Thanks for your input.

So The question is do you want to spend $30K on Aerocets or <$10K for a good set of 2870s? I'd put the $20K difference toward a power upgrade.

Yup, hard to argue with that. The Aerocets are swanky but spendy. It seems like a LOT of float for the little 180. You can buy my excellent PK3000 floats for 7,500 dollars and they did very well for me. Just my opinion, I don't consider myself an expert. Thanks for you perspective, an 0520 some day sure would be nice!

The PKs ( PeeKay is back in business) are made in Maine and they are generally a rough water and salt water type float. Great for running into docks and rocks, not so great for getting out of the water and they weigh more than most other floats.

Your 1955 C-180 is one of the old nice and light 180s, ( unless somebody filled it full of heavy electronic junk)