Thread: Any actual Alaskan experience HUNTING with Lyman Great Plains .54 PRB

Default Any actual Alaskan experience HUNTING with Lyman Great Plains .54 PRB

I'm looking for any Alaskans who actually have "real first hand experience" hunting big game here "in Alaska" (moose, caribou, black bear) using any FLINTLOCK muzzleloader shooting .54 PRB (230 grain patched round ball) burning REAL Goex blackpowder. I've been playing with smoke poles for a couple of years now, mainly a Lyman Great Plains Hunter with a fast twist 1 in 32" barrel...shooting the Lyman 450 grain .54 caliber buffalo bullet using Pyrodex with great accuracy. I only recently got myself a Lyman Great Plains Flintlock with the slow twist 1 in 60" barrel, which is limited to both PRB and real Goex (a hard to find commodity here). I've found decent accuracy with 90-120 grain loads, but would like to hear from an Alaskan with Alaskan experience hunting with PRB burning Goex in a flinter...as to real world killing power on our "larger than deer" critters. I'm finding the old ways using 18th and 19th century technology to be very interesting to this longtime Alaskan. Using 209 primers igniting blackpowder substitute pellets or even smokeless powder, does not a muzzleloader make! Any traditional muzzleloading Alaskan hunters out there? I would sure like to hear from "those in the know", NOT speculation, here say, "I know a guy" in the lower 48! Thanks in advance to any Alaskan Traditionalists...

No first-hand help with larger-that-deer on the Great Plains 54 flinter, even as I've shot a lot of deer with it. No kids at home since I got into muzzleloaders over a decade back, so zero reason to shoot the big ones. Three of my hunting pards are regular elk and moose killers with 54 round balls, but you don't want to year about that.