Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: drop away vs whisker biscuit

Default drop away vs whisker biscuit

After posting this below in the thread in the market I decided to copy paste it here as a new thread.

I'm new to archery and just recently started shooting. I am no expert and have a lot to learn.

I started out shooting my buddies bow just to get a feel for things. I spent several weeks shooting his bow and decided to take the plunge.

I recently ordered bow but prior to its arrival had to take the ADF&G Bow hunter education class.

While waiting for my bow to arrive I borrowed a friends Diamond Victory for a profeciency shoot... I know using a borrowed bow for a test.... But all kidding aside his bow was the only bow I had ever shot so it's hardly borrowed...

I shot the test and was stunned at the performance difference... His bow is set at 60lbs with QAD drop away... His bow was planting arrows a good 6" deeper then all the other bows. There were several manufacters represented.. Matthews, Hoyt, and Bow tech... His bow had the lightest draw of any of them... The difference? Though they were shooting 65-70lb draw respectively but they were all shooting whisker biscuits...

Just my observation...

Anyone else out there had similar experiences?

Thumbs down booo whisker biscuit!!!!!

The main problem with the whisker biscuit is that you always have contact with the arrow and with contact you have friction causing the arrow to slow down. Get that thing wet and frozen up north and forget it you'd be better off throwing knives. Drop aways are the way go as far as I'm concerned but hay thats just my opinion...

Thumbs up Drop Away's