Thread: Good All Around Trolling/Spinning Rods for Lakers for my Kids

Default Good All Around Trolling/Spinning Rods for Lakers for my Kids

Hey Guys, it's been so long since I've done any spin fishing I've kinda lost touch with good quality spinning/trolling gear. I've been mostly fly fishing for the last 15-20 years I don't really do much spin fishing or trolling anymore. I would like to buy a couple decent trolling/spinning rods for my kids because we are going to be building a cabin this summer on a lake with lake trout. I thought about buying a couple trolling rods the other day with some Abu Garcia bait casting reels. I saw a good deal on some combos for less than a hundred bucks. But then my son mentioned that he wanted a rod that he could also cast from shore so then I got thinking that maybe I should just buy a heavy duty spin casting combo rod and reel. Any good suggestions on good deals?

I'm a compete novice, so take this with a grain of salt, but I've caught plenty of fish on Ugly Sticks.
    brad g.
    So Cal, USA
    Visit my Sporting Clays website
    http://www.ysr-racer.com

Ugly stick is the way to go

IMO, Ugly sticks are made for new fisherman and kids simply because they are almost impossible to break. I can't stand them, I don't think they have a good feel and most of the ones I've fished didn't have a good enough back bone for good hook sets. I'd look more into a medium-heavy 9' plus name brand rod (lamiglass, gloomis, shimano Etc)

Quote Originally Posted by bnkwnto View Post
    I'd look more into a medium-heavy 9' plus name brand rod (lamiglass, gloomis, shimano Etc)