Thread: Gulkana River

Default Gulkana River

I am from Columbus, Ohio and planning a trip to Alaska in August 2016. I am planning a canoe trip to Tangle Lakes area, portaging and canoeing to Dickey Lake, then down the Middle Fork to Main branch of Gulkana down to Sourdough campsite and beyond. Does anyone have recent experience in this area?

you never told us what experance you have in a canoe it is doable people do it a lot , the stream out of dickey is rocky an the Gulkana is a fair size river with water that moves some rock's there is a book out on most of the rivers telling you a lot of what you want to know , you will pull the canoe a lot in that stream have a good trip SID I did the stream long time a go

I have over 30 years canoeing experience at Camp Wabun in North Eastern, Ontario. I have been to Hudson Bay by the Attawapiskat River.

It's a good float with some points for effort in the beginning. August is a great time to be in that area. It's a common float for summer fishermen and boaters, and the last time i did it there was a reasonably visible path that was worn to mark the portage route. straightforward river character.

I pack rafted through tangles and floated out of dicky to the Gulkana then walked out to the road from the Middle Fork / Gulkana confluence. The 3 or 4 Portages through the tangles are short and pretty easy. The longest is about a mile with steep