Thread: Float hunt RC566

Default Float hunt RC566

I am looking to hunt the RC566 for the first time. I am thinking about flying into the head of the Gakona river and floating it with inflatable canoes. Any advice? I will be going with a buddy of mine and my 16 yo son. Looking to get him on some game before his senior year. I am curiuos what the river is like, whether or not it will be doable, or worth my time. If not, I am open to other suggestions. Like I said this is my first time doing this hunt so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

I've no insight on the Gakona River, but have heard of people floating out of Dickey Lake on the Gulkana to bou hunt.

thanks Gary. Any word as to success rates or hunter density? Another question? what is the "average" temperature for this area in September?

Quote Originally Posted by beekeeper86 View Post
    thanks Gary. Any word as to success rates or hunter density? Another question? what is the "average" temperature for this area in September?
    You'll see other hunters no doubt, but not as many as other places. You'll have space and peace mostly. You should have no trouble filling your tags if you get out and walk away from the river in likely spots. Be prepared for Temps close to zero F. You'll mostly see Temps from high 30s to low teens with the possible warm fall day and frigid night/ morning. But be prepared for possible snow and extreme cold.
    Pack a Fly rod and plenty of tippet and dry flies. The fishing can be excellent and will you variety in your diet

Release Lake Trout

That is excellent!! Thank you all for the information. I am very excited to get out and give er a go. As for fly fishing, I was hoping to hear that. Looks like I'm going to be buying some more clothes for the boy and I.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

next question, I was looking into the gulkana. How gnarly are the canyon rapids? is it something we need to worry about? that seems like a looong portage to get around.