Thread: COL.....What the heck.

Default COL.....What the heck.

I have been reloading since the 1970's and always tailored cartridge overall length to the gun that I was loading for. That's the way Ole Butch taught me to do it.

Gunbugs made a comment on this forum a while back...least wise I think it was him so he gets the credit. It was in regards to 22 lr ammo prices and what it cost him per round to shoot his .223.

I inventoried my reloading supplies a short time ago and discovered a sack of a thousand rounds of 223/.556 brass and 2 boxes of 500 ea Hornady 50 grain VMax bullets. I bought a heap of stuff for a lump sum a couple of years ago when an area gunshop closed. There were a few tubs of stuff that I hadn't gone through yet.

I decided that since I also had 3 cans of IMR 4198 that I had enough stuff on hand to load enough light loads to last me until I become a turd in the woods. 3 cans of powder is 21,000 grains or 21 grains/round. Since loading a thousand rounds without any spilleage ain't possible I'm going with 20.5 grains per load. This still going to give me 3150-3200 FPS.....hardley a light load but it is compared to the 3500 FPS that I get with the same bullet and "my" charge of CFE 223.

There is always a chance that I could become that turd in the woods before I get all my ammo shot up. I am not one for just shooting up ammo to hear a bang...no machine gun Joe stuff for me. That brings us to the cartridge overall length delima. I have 3 rifles that shoot 223 ammo and there are 4 more amungst the kids. I want this ammo to be a go for any one of the 7 rifles. Hornady's manual calls for a COL of 2.20" for this load/bullet. My 3 rifles and both of my son's 223s can chamber my test rounds without contacting the rifling with the bullet seated so that the COL is 2.270 a couple of them don't touch lands until they are 2.280 or more.