Thread: DE713 South West Afognak Cow Elk Hunt

Default DE713 South West Afognak Cow Elk Hunt

This is my first year applying for Draw Permits and me and a buddy won a party hunt for DE 713. We're working on researching as much as we can about the area and this hunt as we can. I was hoping to possibly get some info from folks that have hunted the area already. I know there is a large bear population on Afognak so we will prepare for that the best we can. I was hoping to find out some more info on public access and rights of way. From what I've found the Joint Venture private land is open to the public for hunting and fishing the native Corp land is not. Will I just need to ask permission and/or is a trespass permit required? Seems like there are some good trails established in SW Afognak so getting around should be fairly decent right? Would transport by boat or float plane be better? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You need to buy a permit from the Afognak Native Corporation to hunt native land there. There are some steep hills there to get up but once you are up there, it is "easy". Lots of Alders though.

Info on Afognak corp land use can be found here.www.afognak.com/lands/land-use-pe
    There is a fee for hunting elk there.

Hunted outa malina lakes a few years back. No native permit requires there. Saw 141 elk in one herd. About a dozen hunters, I was one of three that got elk. Be up early, glass high and go like crazy to beat others to the herd. Shoot straight and smart. We saw three bears, zero deer several fox and tons of fish. Wished I had a rod for the dollies and silvers that were in there. Was a fun hunt. Cow elk down there are huge. Like a cow moose.
    Www.blackriverhunting.com
    Master guide 212