Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Picked up a vintage Marlin 60

Default Picked up a vintage Marlin 60

I ended up picking up a marlin glenfield model 60 today. Looks as if it was made in 73. Pictures will come soon. It was in sad shape, speckled rust, worn stock. Just the type that needs a new home.

The comb is always high on a 60 for me to use with the irons, so first thing I did was cut it down to make it not raised. I'll get around to refinishing the stock one of these days. Got some parts on order, a new buffer, and some springs.

It did function, but was dirty as sin. I'll get it cleaned up over the next couple days.

Im figuring on putting a sling on it, and drilling out the stock for a small survival kit. I am a carpenter by trade, so I shouldnt have any problems with this. I'll try to get some pics of it as it happens, maybe even a youtube video if im feeling frisky.

I know survival items would depend on location, but suggestions would be appreciated. Maybe something I havent though of. Right now, im figuring on a ferrocerium rod, some tinder in the form of cotton balls/vaseline, a few extra bullets, and a space blanket hopefully.

This isnt my first model 60, but I went without a 22 for a little while. So im probably going to hang onto this one. It needs a good home.

Might sound funny, but I'd put a tight little roll of dental floss in a small kit. I've spend a lot of time siwash camping in the woods, and I find lots of uses for twine, but almost always run out.

Quote Originally Posted by Bazoo View Post
    I ended up picking up a marlin glenfield model 60 today. Looks as if it was made in 73. Pictures will come soon. It was in sad shape, speckled rust, worn stock. Just the type that needs a new home.

The comb is always high on a 60 for me to use with the irons, so first thing I did was cut it down to make it not raised. I'll get around to refinishing the stock one of these days. Got some parts on order, a new buffer, and some springs.