Thread: 172 Cessna...tell me something bad.....

Default 172 Cessna...tell me something bad.....

I continue to research planes....beginning a basics class...and pouring over advice from experienced aviators...took some good advice from here and decided not to buy into a plane at this time. Sooo..to a total novice..the 172 looks like the perfect compromise for a guy that will be hauling himself...his gear...and one other person. Ruled out the smaller Cessnas after being told " you can take your girlfriend and your hat along...nothing else". The 172 seems perfect....should you need to haul three passengers..you can. Good power...forgiving to fly....popular and proven. Tell me something you don't like about them .

Great airplane. Parts cost more than Piper product parts...which is a large part of how I ended up in the TriPacer instead...but I love my PA-22 and I have loved flying a few different 172s here and there. The best budget to capability is in these two airplanes.

Once you get to the point where the airplane is more limiting than the pilot ability, say after 500 hours or so, you might want to decide if the extra 20% capability of other planes is worth the extra 60% cost...hasn't been for me.
    14 Days to Alaska
    Also available on Kindle and Nook

Well I wrote this last night from my Nexus tablet but it would not stay put: So here goes on my desk-top.

Confessions of a reluctant Cessna 172 owner:
    1. Having grown up around tube and fabric planes, it is weird not to be able to cut out and replace fabric damage. Metal is not as easy to work with.
    2. The older 172s were slightly underpowered but they had manual flaps up to the D model. The newer versions might have more power but they have the slow electric flaps.
    3. The older versions had sturdy spring steel landing gear that sat higher off the ground. But is was a more narrow stance.