Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cabin Roof Considerations, Rafter or Truss

Default Cabin Roof Considerations, Rafter or Truss

Good day all. Am grinding through design considerations for a 16x28 cabin with half loft and had previously settled on a ridge beam design to support the rafters. Knee walls probably around 4 feet and 12/12 or 9/12 pitch roof. This is for a site that is 10 miles from end of the road, with everything hauled in by snowmachine.

The ridge beam design will have support columns inside the cabin, but I'm toying with the idea of using trusses instead and doing away with the ridge beam altogether. The boss wants a cathedral ceiling, so I figure the two options are parallel chord or scissor trusses. If we were located next to a road I'd have already made up my mind, I'm sure. As it is I have no experience with hauling trusses on a sled and wonder what experiences folks have had in getting honking big trusses to their build site.

Recommendations on hauling or alternative designs considerations would be much appreciated.

I built over 20 remote cabins in Gray Cliff and Moose Point. For most of them, I marked out a jig on the floor and built my own trusses. Outline the jig with blocks of wood screwed to the floor. Make pattern pieces. Mark all the other pieces and cut. Use construction adhesive and plywood gussets held down with screws. We usually made all the trusses for a cabin in one day.
    Hunt Ethically. Respect the Environment.

Or, I got a glue lam from Spenard's, and 11-7/8" BCI's (light to haul), I put them 12" on center, ( you will want one space wider for the stovepipe to go thru),made a great open beam loft area. Get the hangers to attach the BCI's to the glue lam. makes quick easy assembly, the glue lam was a little heavy but the rest was a breeze to put up. There are also hangers for the bottom of the rafters to attach to the top sill plate.