Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: freighter canoe - diy??

Default freighter canoe - diy??

I am a librarian in a small town.
    I had a patron come in and ask me what I could tell them about building their own freighter canoe; specifically not an ocean crossing vessel; just a "little one".
    The patron is British so I don't know if I understood him correctly; what he wanted etc. So I googled up freighter canoe and there's not much out there to choose from for plans, but this forum did make the top of the list.
    Does anyone know of any resources I could pull up for my patron on how to build your own freighter canoe in the middle of the prairie?
    Thanks in advance.

Default place to start

Here's an online place to start:
    http://www.greatdreams.com/canoe2.htm

Not much on "freight" canoe plans that I've run across in the past. But sure a lot on other types. Tappan Adney and David Gidmark wrote excellent books on building with birch bark.

This link below takes a while to load, but if you scroll down you'll run into some great homebuilt canoes:
    http://www.selway-fisher.com/BoatBuilder.htm#ECT

Good luck,
    Mark

Look up books on strip built canoes, there are several that have some plans for freighter designs. No titles come to mind, but a bit of googling will shed some light.

You can try www.glen-l.com there are all kinds of boat plans on that site. I don't know if there is any freight canoe plans, but I do know there are canoe plans. I belive it also has a forum for boat builders. Maybe they could help too.

I think what you are looking for when you refer to a "freighter" canoe is really known as a "Voyageur Canoe" or sometimes as a "Montreal Canoe". These canoes were used by the fur traders in Canada and are available commercially today. They range from 16' to 34' or longer (today). I suggest you do a google search under the two names I've given you.