Thread: fabricating an aluminum roof over the fishing deck...

Default fabricating an aluminum roof over the fishing deck...

My boat is a '08 Hewescraft 220 Searunner ht/et.
    I'd like to replace the full canvas cover over the fishing deck with an aluminum roof.
    Has anyone done this on this or a similar boat? pics?
    I'm interested in pros/cons/concerns.
    My thought is to use 3/16" marine aluminum... bolt it to the lip on the hardtop and have suitable posts near the back of the transom fish box.
    Any input would be appreciated. ThanksIMG_5122.jpg
    '08 Hewescraft 220 Searunner ht/et
    Yamahas: 150 & 9.9HT/Yamaha fuel-flow gauges
    Raymarine C-80 chartplotter/sounder/radar
    Icom vhf/Dickinson 9000 heater/Ace Brutus+40 pot puller/Zodiac tender

Wasilla, behind 3 Bears on the Palmer Wasilla Hwy

I have no experience with aluminum tops myself, but have started thinking about one for my jet boat. Just wondering, 3/16 seems like it would be way over kill for a top.

Quote Originally Posted by bmunsell View Post
    I have no experience with aluminum tops myself, but have started thinking about one for my jet boat. Just wondering, 3/16 seems like it would be way over kill for a top.
    Depends on the number of ribs and if you plan on putting anything on top.

There's at least 2 Hewes in the Homer harbor that have what you're taking about. I'll see tomorrow if I can get some pics.
    3/16 is overkill. Go with a good design that sheds water (a very slight camber) and you will be able to use 1/8.
    On a side note what's the boat powered with?
    Check out Quickwater Adventure water taxi/transport services: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quick...37553606260978

006 ...jpg Something like this maybe?

I like! You're smarter than the average hunter.

something similar to this..

img047.jpgLike this?

Thanks for the feedback... the pics/comments are helpful as I fine tune a design!
    Nunya... yes, that's pretty close to what I'm looking for.