Thread: Brass length - trimming?

Default Brass length - trimming?

I'm just starting out reloading and am processing my first batch of once fired brass.
    .300 WinMag
    Brass is Remington and Federal (both high nickel/chrome looking?)
    My question, my once fired brass measures between 2.573 and 2.595. The Speer book says trim length to 2.620, and Barnes book says trim length to 2.620 max, 2.610 min. If this is the case, why is my brass so short from the getgo. I assume it will grow over time and shooting...but that much? Am I missing something here? Any insight and advise is appreciated.
    Last edited by 2dawgs; 02-02-2016 at 19:26. Reason: Spelling

Default Brass length - trimming?

Yes, it will grow. You don't want it to, but it will. Particularly with a belted mag, it will get thin just above the belt as it flows to the neck. This will eventually cause it to get so thin, that the case head could separate just above the belt. Use a pick (using the point) to feel along the inside of the brass for a lip above the belt (inside the case). When you can feel it, the case is done.

Don't stress the trim to length right now. As long as you make an even perfectly flat trim (90 degrees to the case axis), you're good imo. In other words, trim it until you get fresh brass on the full diameter of the mouth, then stop.

For hunting accuracy, that'll work. For competition, you're in for a lot more work, and you'll figure it out with experience.

Edited to add:

One cause of premature brass failure is oversizing cases, when you size them per most instructions, you're making the brass so short, that a gap is formed between the shoulder of the chamber, and the shoulder of the brass. This allows the brass to expand to fill the void, while the head is held by the extractor. This is the reason brass gets thin down by the belt.

Adjust your dies so that when sizing, you bump the shoulder .001" to .002" from the original fired size.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ