Thread: homer to kodiak

Default homer to kodiak

I am curious if there are many people who have taken their boat from Homer, Alaska to Kodiak not using the ferry. If so, what kind of boat do you have? How big is your boat? What was the trip like. Thanks

I was a passenger/part time crew member (I stood wheel watch for a few hours)on a 42'Delta Seiner.

Smooth in KBay, light rollers by Flat Is, we cut through the Barrens- THAT was a ride! 4-6' chop after that to Shuyak. I'm not a pro, but I don't think I'd like to have been in a smaller boat.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Quote Originally Posted by mcnejs View Post
    I am curious if there are many people who have taken their boat from Homer, Alaska to Kodiak not using the ferry. If so, what kind of boat do you have? How big is your boat? What was the trip like. Thanks
    My old friend Renn Tolman used to take his little 'Pennywhistle', a displacement hull of low power (guessing 28') to Shuyak/Kodiak/Bann Island deer hunting for many years. Lots of people do it in small craft; it is a weather dependant endeavour entirely, if you care for comfort and life. I spent over two weeks in Carrie Inlet (Shuyak) in a 78' steel boat waiting for weather on a deer hunt in November. That was back in the day of 7 deer limit. I have a pic somewhere of 49 deer hanging from the starboard gunwale...

After you leave the peninsula there is only the Barren Islands between and they are not the best hangout in bad weather. Without size, it is a between the equinoxes only transit. The closer to the middle the better. If you have a fast boat and get up early one day in July you can make it to Shuyak before the day breeze gets to bad, I'm told.

I go longlining with my dad every year near kodiak, we go there and back in a 32' boat. Only the rips are rough the rest is fine when it's not blowing too hard.

That trip is on my radar, we have a 28 ft Kingfisher. Very weather dependent but not an impossible trip in my view.