Thread: Swan lake Kenai

Default Swan lake Kenai

Hi I will travel from East entrance down to moose river then out , as I quit new to canoeing I would like to no how difficult a trip this is. I will be travelling with my wife hope to go maybe in May ?
    Thanks

middle of May could be early [ trails not dyed out an ice ] who you should talk to is Max at the canoe rentals in Sterling , he puts a lot of campers / fisher man in there all summer , he also did run a car shuttle service to bring your car/TK out an waiting , the stream out of Swan is a tuff one, lots off weeds, some of people portage from Swan to the moose,
    when I was going there , the hardest part of the trip is the last few miles on the Moose wind , head wind all the way an no current to help out
    we norminally spent A week in there, Sat to Sat, with the boy scouts an was tired, SID

It's been, oh 35 years since I did that trip from the West entrance. My brother, friend and I and were complete newbies with two paddling and the third sitting in the center. We survived without tipping, I'm sure your wife and you will do great. I agree with Sid that you may want to go later in the year, although if it's a low snow year it may be dry by then. Our closest call to flipping the canoe came on the Moose River when we brushed by a submerged stump or rock. With fresh rain the two days prior there was a nice little current pushing us along and it was probably more our surprised reaction that put us at greater risk. Otherwise the only concerns were keeping rain out of the tent or wondering if we needed sunscreen.

Thank you so much for your advise it good to know as for time to go I have no choice, I will certainly contact Max
    Thanks