Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new fly rods for reds

Default new fly rods for reds

I need to buy 7 or so fly rods for red salmon. I'm looking for something with a lifetime warranty that will hold up to inexperienced users and not have the broom stick feel of a 10wt ugly stick. Last year the company I guided for used Echo 10wts and I was not happy with them at all.

I know this has been beat to death on here but it's winter and I'm bored today.

Thanks

I'm no expert, but my wife and I both have St. Croix Imperial 8wts and love them. They have lifetime warranties - I've had to return one twice for warranty work, and there were no questions or problems either time. That said, I wonder if the warranty would be different if they're used commercially. Regardless of the company, that would be worth checking into.

My vote would be either the Temple Fork Outfitters Professional Series II or BVK. Both of these rods in an 8wt would be perfect for your situation. Since swing weight seems to be a big factor in your decision, I would lean towards the BVK (8wt 9 only weighs 3.2oz!). Both of these rods will not break the bank, and their warranty is one of the best in the industry! 100% no-fault. Send them the broken rod plus $30, and you will receive a replacement section, or an entire new rod.

I made a trip up to the Klutina a couple seasons ago, and left my rod tube (with the rod in it) on my rear bumper. As I was backing out of the space, it fell of the bumper and was driven over by the vehicle behind me. I mailed everything in with my check, and received a new rod one week later! So if you have clumsy friends or family members, this will be a comfort knowing you will be covered.

Temple fork! Awesome warranty and great rods.

Sent while partying
    I will never be a "Prostaffer" its not that I am not good enough
    but its because I refuse to pimp products for free.