Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ramp checks on private property

Default Ramp checks on private property

Is it legal for FAA to conduct ramp checks on private property? Wouldn't they have to get a warrant like any other enforcement body to conduct a search on private property?

It was always my understanding that they needed permission to come on private property. But I'm not an internet lawyer or an expert at anything and opinions only carry weight if you are a climatologist.................
    Tim

I have heard of it on well traveled beaches, I can't imagine private property. But then I couldn't imagine beaches either until it happened.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

If you have no trespassing signs up than they cannot I believe. Heard of a Faa guy getting called into the troopers for trespassing on a private neighborhood strip here in the valley. The caller didn't know it was an Faa guy, until the trooper called him back. He was told to leave the premise immediately anyways. Im not a lawyer but if they are snooping around my cabin strip they better have a warrant.

That is good to know that Alaskans are in alignment on this issue. I will likely be operating out of a private strip in the future and I have heard of horror stories of FAA gone wild after some incident at Wasilla a number of years back (it might have been alot of years back at this point). My documents are up to date but who wants to be put on the spot, its like nazi's asking to see your papers, would kinda ruin my day.

So you started a thread about something that has not happened ?
    Floatplane,Tailwheel and Firearms Instructor- Dragonfly Aero
    Experimental Hand-Loader, NRA Life Member
    http://site.dragonflyaero.com

Quote Originally Posted by Float Pilot View Post
    So you started a thread about something that has not happened ?