Thread: typical time frame for your first critter

Default typical time frame for your first critter

I am new to trapping. Read a lot of stuff this fall and watched some videos. Had a buddy who has trapped before help me get set up. We set a line with some snares and a few foot holds etc. We found an area with a LOT of rabbit activity and set there since there isnt another line in the area. How long does a line typically take to start producing if you have good predators in the area?
    Makin fur fins and feathers fly.

if your sets are where the critters are hunting and moving the first check should see some fur
    meats meat don't knock it till you try it

Copy that. Im going to check it tonight. My buddy went and made a few more sets only a day or so after. Its been sitting now a week so hopefully it will yield something. There were a LOT of tracks in the area, bunny, coyote, fox and a few lynx. With as much animal traffic that appears to be in there I hope we are successful.

Well checked it last night. 2 rabbits and a squirrel. Not exactly the intended target. Something, Im guessing coyote since that is the majority of the tracks we are seeing, was kind enough to dispose of one rabbit minus the head. Im headed back out this week to extend the line and add a few pee poles etc.

I had a fox take a left on my snowshoe line-if he had taken a right he would have ended up on one of my footholds! good luck hopefully you'll have some fur next check.

Still just bunnies. Cant seem to get what we want in there. Had something wreck a small cubby so I dropped more bait and added a foot hold in front. Cant get to the rabbits quick enough before something else is chewing em up. I was fortunate enough to take a few grouse on last check with the rifle though so I ate good for a night.

I check my bunny snares everyday and have yet to lose one(knock knock).