Thread: Blacktail in whittier

Default Blacktail in whittier

I'm still relatively new to Alaska. I don't have boat access or $ to fly out to Juneau.

Can anyone tell me how the hunting is in Whittier for blacktail. I don't mind hard work or hiking. Just looking for some decent population to give myself a chance.

I'm coming out of Anchorage.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

I think that you find that on the mainland the population is pretty sparse.

If you don't have a boat you are SOL to about 99.0% I think. I have been on approximately 9 seaduck hunting trips into PWS and I have seen 1 deer. A doe. Close to town though so that leaves validity to the remaining 1% chance for success.

I couldn't say with any confidence that anyone has ever taken a deer on foot from Whittier. I've seen pictures of deer that wandered all the way to Anchorage but personally I wouldn't even bother hunting on the Whittier side of Port Wells.

Thanks for saving me the headache. What if I were to drive to Valdez? Any better out there?

No. I have lived in Valdez for 12 years and saw one picture of a deer on the duck flats. Too much snow in the winter to keep deer on the mainland.

Quote Originally Posted by TBONNES View Post
    I don't mind hard work or hiking. Just looking for some decent population to give myself a chance.

If it was that easy we'd all be doin' it.....lol
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Meanderthal View Post
    I couldn't say with any confidence that anyone has ever taken a deer on foot from Whittier. I've seen pictures of deer that wandered all the way to Anchorage but personally I wouldn't even bother hunting on the Whittier side of Port Wells.