Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What kind of fishing line?

Default What kind of fishing line?

I am due to buy a couple spools of fishing line.

One will be braid in the 60ish pound class. I have been using power pro 80lb for about 5 years now and it is time to respool some halibut and rockfish jigging reels.

The second spool will be for downrigger rods for silvers and kings. I usually use braid with a 25-30' topshot of 30lb flourocarbon. I don't like the knots running through the guides and it often jerks the rod and on occasion pulls the line loose from the downrigger clip when novices are using them. It'd be nice to have no knots, but I am not sold on using just mono.

Recommendations for each appreciated :-)

randy

One other thing - I would not mind having colored line for both applications. But I don't want to buy multiple spools - just a couple big spools.

I'm running FINS 65lb on my bottom rods and love it the last 2 seasons. I have been running straight 20lb mono on riggers rods since I was running with my dad since the mid 80s with no problems. This past winter I decided to try braid with a 150yd topshot of 20lb mono and it works great and it the way I'll be running for a longtime I think. I run 300yds of 50lb braid, then fill the rest of the reel with 20 or 25lb mono. Use a GT know to tie the 2 together, it's the slimmest knot there is and you won't notice it go through the guides. It's much more economical so far, just keep replacing the topshot as needed. Plenty of 40lb kings last spring with no problems.
    Life's to short for an ugly boat

Blaze N Abel Charters
    Kodiak, AK
    www.alaska-fish.com
    https://www.facebook.com/BlazeNAbelCharters/?fref=ts

No topshot on my downrigger reels. Just 50# braid

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk