Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Southeast road system deer hunt in late November?

Default Southeast road system deer hunt in late November?

I'm considering a short hunt over the four day Thanksgiving break, and got to thinking about deer in Southeast.

A couple years back I visited a forum member in Sitka for a short three-day deer hunt. Unfortunately, it became a one-day hunt after I got stranded in Juneau for two days due to a cancelled flight. I hunted Douglas Island for a day while stuck, and we had a great day via boat out of Sitka once I got there, but I didn't get a feel for the road system opportunities in Sitka and didn't see much action in Juneau.

So...is anyone willing to tell me if there is a town where a fella could have a reasonable time walking in the woods via a rental car over the Thanksgiving time frame? I'd head to Petersburg, as I know some folks there and love the area, but the season is closed there by that point. I have zero experience with the other towns where such a quick trip would be possible - Ketchikan, Wrangell, etc. I'd appreciate any thoughts, even if those involve dissuading me from the idea altogether.

If it was me I'd go to Craig. Or one of the other towns/villages on Prince of Wales Island. Lots of logging roads and the nicest Blacktails you'll find in Alaska. You can rent a car in Craig. Not sure about the other places
    An opinion should be the result of thought, not a substitute for it.
    - Jef Mallett

Interesting thought. I had pretty much discounted POW because I figured there weren't regularly scheduled flights over there, but I was thinking more of the smaller towns like Coffman Cove. Huh...thanks for the food for thought.

Island air express has 3 flights/day from ketchikan to klawock, desk is next to ak air in ktn. Vehicle rental across the road from island air desk in klawock.
    Wheeled caravan has fewer weather delays than the float planes.

Quote Originally Posted by Brian M View Post