Thread: I found a magical powder for 7mm-08s

Default I found a magical powder for 7mm-08s

I've been on vacation this week. I took the whole week off to hunt deer with my muzzleloaders. I was tagged out and had the meat on the freezer by the end of day 4 so I got to move on to some other fun stuff.

Smitty of the North sorta introduced me to a new avenue in my shooting ways. He told me what was wrong with my .277 bullet flinger and sent some words of wisdom my way concerning the .284 bullet flingers. I have fallen in love with the 7mm-08 round. I have 4 of them...it's OK, I have 5 grandsons who are coming up through the ranks. I spent all day today at the range with my 4 little sevens, a Chrony and some of my own reloads.

3 of the 4 guns shot sub moa with both 120 grain Hornady soft points and 175 grain Nosler Accu Bond. Hodgdon CFE 223 was the powder of choice for the 120 grain loads and IMR 4451 for the big bullet. I have been shooting the CFE 223 for a few years and knew what to expect from it. The biggest surprise of the day came with the new to me 4451 powder with the 175 grain Nosler on top. I started with light loads of the untried 4451 and worked up one grain at a time. At the end of the day I was all smiles. The Savage 16 Weather Warrior shot the best with the 175s. Three shots at just a bit over 1/2" along with the Chrony reading that surpassed 2800 fps (2802 average for 3 shots). Since the BC of this bullet is .672 coupled with the obtainable FPS it pretty much trumps our own military's current sniper round ballisticly speaking.

The one gun that would not shoot under an inch with the 175s was the only gun in the pile that came from the factory with a MOA promise that being the Vanguard.