Thread: Canning smoked salmon questions

Default Canning smoked salmon questions

So I'm new to canning and I tried canning some smoked salmon. It turned out dryyyyy... I smoked our normal process except I only smoked it long enough to burn two pans of alder chips in my little chief. We then stuffed into half pint jars and cooked for 100 min at 10 psi. It turned out edible but very dryy.. I've had other people's canned/smoked and it was far better and not nearly as dry. What can I do better or change?

1. Don't smoke it so long since it will continue to "cook" in the pressure cooker
    2. I think 100 minutes is too long in the pressure cooker I think I do 45-50 minutes at 10 psi
    3. A teaspoon of olive oil in the jar prior to sealing.

I actually use cans for canned smoked salmon.

Do you just want to have a smoke flavor or do want the brime taste? The best way to get "smoked canned salmon" is liquid smoke just put a couple drops in and taste just the same but not dry.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

Strange, your process sounds like ours, and we don't have dry salmon; there's always some liquid in the bottom of the jar. But we do use pint jars.
    Do you brine it before smoking? We do, in salted, spiced water, then let it dry a bit before smoking. We leave on the skin for smoking, but pull if off before we put the strips into the jars for canning. In the past, we have added some oil, but didn't need it so we have quit doing that. We do the canning at 100 minutes at 11 psi. Like I said, there's generally an inch or more of liquid in the bottom of the jar, and the fish is not dry. Dunno what the difference is...

Yes I brine in a simple 4:1 bs and salt. I like the smoke flavor so maybe I will try liquid smoke. Never looked into metal cans before.

What I do:

• Skin the fillets and cut to finished length for the jars.
    • Dry brine for several hours with 80/20 brown sugar/salt mixture with a few secret ingredients.