Thread: group flying

Default group flying

So, I am still kinda new to the flying crowd. I started in June, bought a straight tail 172. working on my PPL currently. I have 36 hours so far. I am wanting to know how everyone goes about flying in groups. I am wanting to see more locations and to be able to fly with other people and more planes.

[QUOTE=Rjusten;1506088]So, I am still kinda new to the flying crowd. I started in June, bought a straight tail 172. working on my PPL currently. I have 36 hours so far. I am wanting to know how everyone goes about flying in groups. I am wanting to see more locations and to be able to fly with other people and more planes.[/QUOT

I'm not a great supporter of "group flying" but I'm not knocking it, either. I do find it a bit too distracting to benefit much from it. As a social event, it's great.

IMO, the very best way to see more locations is to get your hands on a current ANCHORAGE SECTIONAL and pick out a few places that you might find interesting or educational. That will add experience more quickly than any other method, I believe. But, whatever you decide, stick with it. You'll be flying in the world's most exciting place! GOOD LUCK with it.

Make sure to pick the biggest chicken to be the group leader.
    Louis Knapp

Flying with one other airplane is the extent of my comfort zone. Going somewhere that is a common destination is one thing, but if you are traveling as a group in the air, you should consider whether you and all the other airplanes have had formation training, and whether there is a formation flight briefing...

My two cents. Common destination is not the same as 'group flying' to me. And I would not personally recommend 'group flying', but instead recommend you take Grizzly's suggestion. Go new places. Plan the flights. Enjoy.
    14 Days to Alaska
    Also available on Kindle and Nook