Thread: Float for a sheep 2016

Default Float for a sheep 2016

Hello I am fairly new to Alaska and very new to the forum. I am looking for some info on doing a self guided float sheep hunt. I have my own raft pristine ventures pioneer xtream. Where? When? Any thoughts would be helpful thank you in advance!

One thing you'll quickly learn about sheep hunters is that they're a tight-lipped group when it comes to the "where". Techniques, gear, and other such advice is gladly shared, but locations can be hard to come by...and for good reason. There is still good sheep hunting to be had in Alaska, but sharing such information publicly on the internet is a sure-fire way to find other people there next year. You might get some location help via private message, but even then, don't expect much in the way of specifics. For area help, you'll likely get responses if you come up with some ideas first and then run them by folks for feedback.

Another thought - float hunting for sheep can be a tough gig. It can and has been done, but most sheep habitat is a good ways from floatable rivers. Some will use rafts to access base camp, but expect to spike out from a floatable river system quite a distance.

Are you planning/willing to fly in first, or are you hoping to do this off the road system? That could be an important consideration in coming up with a plan.

First off thank you brian. Yes fly in. I've heard talk of some places from the road but crowded.

Brian nailed it.