Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kodiak; things to pack

Default Kodiak; things to pack

Hey guys
    I'm going on my first ever kodiak trip in a few weeks. It will be a combination Bear/deer hunt. It's still a little up in the air as to wether I'm floating a river or flying into a lake.
    I work in the oil industry, so the next two weeks will help me decide as to which I'm doing.
    Next week I will be getting all our gear together and I was wondering what little items that all you guys with experience have found very useful.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A very "VERY" high quality four season tent, that will stand 80-100 MPH wind and driving torrential rain and snow. Lots of tie-down rope and extra stakes.

Baby wipes, a good book (Monarch Of Deadman Bay: The Life and Death of a Kodiak Bear).

Quote Originally Posted by AGL4now View Post
    A very "VERY" high quality four season tent, that will stand 80-100 MPH wind and driving torrential rain and snow. Lots of tie-down rope and extra stakes.
    We've got a bombshelter, so hopefully that's enough.

Quote Originally Posted by Birdstrike View Post
    Baby wipes, a good book (Monarch Of Deadman Bay: The Life and Death of a Kodiak Bear).
    Haven't read that book, but I'm buying baby wipes by the case these days!

Ditto the book recommendation. Good read. And the Bombshelter will be fine. I'd park it where it's protected from the wind, though (shielded by brush or terrain).

Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501
    "Dream big, and dare to fail." -Norman Vaughan
    "I have climbed my mountain, but I must still live my life." - Tenzig Norgay