Thread: Potential job idea

Default Potential job idea

I'm currently a correctional officer in Illinois. I was wondering how a career as an Alaskan state correctional officer compared to here which the pay, wellness of the job, and if it is a type of job to have a descent lifestyle. I see the pay is 20 and hr with 42 hours a week in Anchorage. But I know the cost of living is higher in Alaska. Any advice on this topic would be wonderful. Its so hard to find information online without having someone first hand to ask. Thank you for you time.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

That is $20 starting out

Call Wildwood correctional facility in Kenai Alaska. 150 road miles south of Anchorage. Sure beats living in the big city. Ask for Dave Cleveland. I'm sure Dave would be more than happy to chat with you and be able to answer most any questions you have that are related to a carer in corrections in Alaska.

A friend was looking into the same thing years ago.
    If I remember correctly when I asked they said you had to be an Alaska resident before applying.
    So take that into consideration.
    It takes a full year to become a resident.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
    "The closer I get to nature the farther I am from idiots"

"Fishing and Hunting are only an addiction if you're trying to quit"

We have plenty of prisoners, and it costs on average $158 a day to house them. More than the average Joe makes in a day. It has to be a growth industry.

Not sure about elsewhere in the state but in Fairbanks correctional officers work 12 hr shifts, 7 days on 7 days off.

Also, the $21.13/hr is entry level. With experience you may qualify for a higher starting wage.
    I am serious... and don't call me Shirley.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM2K7sV-K74

I didn't see where you had to be a resident but I'll check into that. I currently work 12 hrs now to get overtime. Every so often I get mandated for 16 hrs. Those suck.