Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pack frames and hunting packs.

Default Pack frames and hunting packs.

I am looking to invest in a good pack frame and was wondering what the people in the know would suggest any info would be much appreciated.

search engine is your friend.....
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

I just purchased the cabelas Alaskan pack and frame. I'm new to hunting and thought it would be a good starter pack.

Quote Originally Posted by akfish716 View Post
    I just purchased the cabelas Alaskan pack and frame. I'm new to hunting and thought it would be a good starter pack.
    A lot of people like them for sure....
    Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Quote Originally Posted by TheGuy56 View Post
    I am looking to invest in a good pack frame and was wondering what the people in the know would suggest any info would be much appreciated.
    Check out the Gear forum.
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and donít have one, youíll probably never need one again

I've owned a few different packs over the years. Hard to go wrong with a Barney's pack, but they are pricey. But I know guys that have used these hard for decades and they are still going strong. A little heavy if you're looking at the empty weight of the pack though.

I just finished with one heck of a hard sheep hunt. We were both using Stone Glacier packs, and I was very happy with mine. About 1/2 the weight of the Barney's pack with about the same amount of space. More probably once you account for the meat shelf expansion. These are also pricey, but worth it in my opinion. Also a little narrower fit, so easier to hike and climb with a narrower fit. I didn't get hung up nearly as often as I have with the Barney's pack.