Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Legal or not?

Default Legal or not?

Taken in unit 20D.

I would think it's only got a fork so it would be legal but that's a little close for comfort...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

That right side is absolutely legal IMO. To be not legal its must have 3 points which must be BOTH "longer than 1 inch" and "longer than it is wide." That right side clearly has 2 points which are over 1 inch long and longer than they are wide. Presence of palmation does not take away from that.
    Born in Alaska: The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. Psalm 16:6

I would say good eaten and its legal
    Is it opening day of duck season yet
    Member of Alaska Waterfowl Association

As I see it. I'm not a lawyer, or a trooper.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Born in Alaska: The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. Psalm 16:6

I'll start by clarifying that I've never taken a moose, so my experience is definitely limited, but I agree with the others that this one appears legal as a fork.

If presented with the opportunity, I would shoot.

Argued with trooper Art Cummings, but he still took the rifle and meat away and gave a ticket. Thanks for your opinions.

And a local biologist also agreed it was a fork...

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

I can't be sure from the pic, but is the right side broken at all? I was of the understanding that if the antler is broken or otherwise modified to result in a fork (read as a point broken or cut off), then it isn't considered a legal moose.

Quote Originally Posted by Frostbitten View Post
    I can't be sure from the pic, but is the right side broken at all? I was of the understanding that if the antler is broken or otherwise modified to result in a fork (read as a point broken or cut off), then it isn't considered a legal moose.