Thread: First homemade smoker. Can I hot smoke in this thing??

Default First homemade smoker. Can I hot smoke in this thing??

Hi guys,

I am in the process of building a smoker from an old fridge. This is my first build and to be honest, I don't really know what I'm doing so feel free to suggest anything. I don't have any vent holes yet, so I gotta get on that as well...

The inside was plastic and fiberglass insulation so I gutted the whole thing and was left with a nice metal box.

IMG_4855 by
    Jonathan Horng, on Flickr

IMG_9775 by Jonathan Horng, on Flickr

IMG_5851 by Jonathan Horng, on Flickr

I decided to line the walls with some plywood, and the bottom part with some aluminum trays.
    And this is where I am hoping I did not mess up. Not a big deal if I need to remove the wood, but am wondering, Can I hot smoke in this thing?

IMG_0754 by Jonathan Horng, on Flickr

FullSizeRender-7 by Jonathan Horng, on Flickr

I was hoping I could put the charcoal bowl I had in my brikman charcoal smoker at the bottom of this and use it as a charcaol smoker.
    Or would it be better to just get a hot plate burner?

IMG_1621 by Jonathan Horng, on Flickr

IMG_7435 by Jonathan Horng, on Flickr

Thanks for looking! And if any of you could tell me:

- Can use charcoal in an enclosed metal box, or in a stainless steel bowl?
    - Is it safer/better to use hot plates?
    - Can I hot smoke in this thing at approx. 200 degrees?

Thanks and feel free to suggest anything.
    Random guy in Fly shop: "Where did this happen???? In real life or in Alaska?"

shoshone idaho

Hey Soda, how's it going?

I have built a smoker or two out of old friges,
    best way I have found is to get one that is metal on the inside then just remove the motor and compresser
    drll a half inch hole up high in the back attach some stainless or aluminum screen over the hole to keep bugs out,
    then get a hot plate set it in the bottom use a small cast iron skillet to put your wood chips in.