Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Goat hunting advice.

Default Goat hunting advice.

Hey everyone.

Please don't blow my doors off!

I drew a goat tag for resurrection peninsula. This is my first time ever perusing goats, to tell you the truth it's never been that high on my list! BUT IT IS NOW!
    I took a royal butt kicking last week hunting. I used my drift boat to access some spots. The real problem I had was getting to the Billy's! I refuse to kill a nanny. I want a billy and I know now what a well earned trophy they are.
    I guess the county I had chosen was wrong. I had no trouble reaching some of the nannys, but all the Billy's I found were out of my reach. They were in impossible county to reach them. Clear at the top! I had a friend with climbing experience with me and he even agreed that without proper gear it would be nuts to attempt.
    I guess my question is.... Do I wait until later in the year and hope they come down? Do I go find a different spot all together?

I need to make a new plan. But I've also got to find someone else to go with me. My wife said I was absolutely not going alone lol
    Any advice from knowledgeable goat hunters is greatly appreciated

Thanks, Kris

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wait till the latter part of September, when snow pushes goats lower. And besides, the pelt quality will be much better by then. My opinion is why would anyone want to shoot a mountain goat in August, when the pelt quality is so poor?

Quote Originally Posted by Maverick940 View Post
    My opinion is why would anyone want to shoot a mountain goat in August, when the pelt quality is so poor?
    Because the days are longer, weather is milder, and the hide may not be the primary concern. To each their own, but there are plenty of reasons to hunt goats in August.