Thread: Multi-band radio & antenna for Alaska

Default Multi-band radio & antenna for Alaska

Anything unique or special about setting up an antenna for receiving multi-band radio in rural Alaska.....???

I'm a HAM radio operator and yes, there are endless ideas for good antennas.

Here's a good place to start looking....

http://www.dxzone.com/catalog/Antennas/Receiving/

Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Well I went there and looked around, and it is all Greek to me (radio talk mumbo'jumbo). So allow me to start over. This would be for "Receiving" only, I don't know if that is a different antenna than transceiver antenna. Is there one antenna that will work for many wave lengths, or does the length of the antenna influence the wave length received.......???

Quote Originally Posted by 4merguide View Post
    I'm a HAM radio operator and yes, there are endless ideas for good antennas.

http://www.dxzone.com/catalog/Antennas/Receiving/

Simple. As long a piece of wire as you can string, as high as possible, with the end connected to the radio antenna input. Ground optional but might help.

If you're living in a remote cabin, particularly if off-grid, there will be so little man-made noise that you should be able to hear anything.

Your generator or inverter will probably make some radio noise though.

Should it be "L" shaped, or does it not matter if the antenna is perpendicular to the transmitter signal......???

Keep it straight and as parallel to the ground as you can. If you can get at least 35' high and 100' long the main lobes (areas of highest sensitivity) will be at an angle from the longitudinal axis of the antenna. About 45 degrees at 5 MHZ and decreasing as the frequency increases. At this height (or higher) you will also get better performance with low angle signals...ie: distant (DX) stations. This guy sums it up pretty well. What are you using for a receiver?