Thread: Marine Shotguns

Default Marine Shotguns

My go to “bear gun” is a Winchester 12ga, pump with a short (18”) barrel and a pistol grip instead of a regular stock. The idea is to keep it short and reasonably portable so it is easy to bring along on outings. I’ve been dragging this gun around for nearly 2 decades. The problem is corrosion resistance. It’s a blued barrel and has more than a few rust spots because it rains up here and the gun doesn’t always get the attention it should in wet environments.

I’d like to replace it with a “marine defender” type shotgun. Short barrels, longer magazines, and corrosion resistant. The choices seem to be:

Winchester Super X Marine Defender: Chrome barrel, aluminum alloy receiver.

Mossberg 500 Mariner: Marinecote barrel, anodized aluminum receiver.

Remingtion 870 Marine Magnum: Electroless nickel plated barrel and receiver.

I’m not too particular about brands or looks. Price is a factor but not the primary one. I just want something that can deal with the weather with little care from me. Any opinions on which of these guns is most resistant to corrosion? I have a stainless 30-06 that is my main hunting rifle and I love the fact that it can be wet for a week without issues. They don’t seem to make stainless shotguns however.

I've got a friend that has a mossberg mariner for sale in Soldotna right now. Like brand new. Sits beside her bed for home protection. $450 if you're interested.

My experience with "marine" type guns is mixed. Haven't used any of those, but I'll offer this insight: It's what's inside that counts. Doesn't matter if the barrel and receiver are "corrosion proof" if all the springs and working parts inside the action are plain steel. I'd look into that point on the three models, and pick the one that comes out best.

What BrownBear said
    Now left only to be a turd in the forrest and the circle will be complete.Use me as I have used you