Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Looking for some Direction

Default Looking for some Direction

Im brand new to this process of obtaining a PPL and looking for advice. I work on the slope so with my schedule im going Part 61. I live in Eagle Rive and would like to find a CFI who flys out of Birchwood. For ground school ive been reading through Jeppesens Private Pilots text book. I took my first flight this pass Thursday with Land and Sea Aviationand and im eager to start my training. It was suggested to me that i should possibly buying a high hour plane just for the purpose of training then selling the plane, the initial cost would be high but training per hour would be less expensive then after i beat the plane up while training i could sell it. Thoughts on this idea?

Q1. is it a good idea to start trainining with Land and Sea untill i find a CFI in Birchwood
    Q2. Does anyone know of any contacts in Birchwood that they are willing to share
    Q3 whats your opion on buying a plane soley for the purpose of getting my PPL then selling

Thanks for your help

Q1. Yes.
    Q2. Sorry, I don't.
    Q3. Yes, IMO.

Tbloom on this site is a CFI that works out of birchwood, he would be a great choice. I bought a Pacer before I ever took a single flight so getting a plane to learn in is a good plan in my book. Getting one with a buddy to share cost is even better. It can take some time to find the right IA and plane to start training in. Winter is just around the corner and weather/daylight will hold off a lot of flying until Feb. The biggest problem I see with people training is they don't get it done!!! They take off a few months due to weather/money/family and have to redo a lot of the training. Lock in 6 mo of time, plane, CFI and money. Than get it done. Nothing wrong with training with land and sea. The money you spend to get your PPL is only a drop in the bucket once you really get hooked!!!!!!
    DENNY