Thread: Whittier West Wind

Default Whittier West Wind

I was all packed up to go last Friday morning but bailed when the weather station at Whittier Harbor was reporting gusts to 50. What puzzled me was there was no small craft advisory. I am a newbie to the Sound, 24' bowpicker style boat, high sided but not self-bailing (wish it was). Seems gusts that strong would make it hard to fuel up and dock.

Any info on what these winds do and how far down Passage Canal they start to mellow out would be appreciated, it was such a perfect day over in Anchorage, was sad to see it slip by. Thanks for any info!

Usually when the winds are from Whittier towards the sound, its a tight chop and not so bad. When they blow from the sound towards Whittier, they can make big ugly waves. 50 mph is way more than I'd attempt no matter which way it was blowing.

Usually on days like that it lays down somewhere between shotgun cove and decision pt. First couple years fishing out of whittier I spent many days in the parking lot hoping for the winds to die down. After fishing Homer for 30 years you don't go out in that kind of wind. Whittier is a different deal. That glacier hanging there tends to create it's own wind. Many many days from Wells passage and beyond it is dead calm and flat glass. But in town it's blowing 50. Especially if the winds are coming from the glacier blowing out.

When its like that, I pull up the Wells Passage buoy data. If its lumpy out there, I don't go. Like previously said, lot of time its a little uncomfortable to start but lays right down.
    In 1492 Native Americans discovered Columbus lost at sea

If I come across as an arrogant, know-it-all jerk, it's because I am

Quote Originally Posted by BQuad View Post