Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hunting Binoculars

Default Hunting Binoculars

Good folks, I currently use a set of Pentax binoculars for hunting. I've had them for about 15 years and they are showing their age. I've been saving up for set of Swarovski binos for the last two years. This week I finally scraped up enough cash to buy a set of 10x50 ELs. BUT I've turned into a chicken when it comes to plunking down that much cash on a piece of hunting kit. Should I go through with it? You thoughts are appreciated.

I couldn't use 10X50s for general hunting, but you won't regret going with Swaros.

Quote Originally Posted by BlueDuck View Post
    Good folks, I currently use a set of Pentax binoculars for hunting. I've had them for about 15 years and they are showing their age. I've been saving up for set of Swarovski binos for the last two years. This week I finally scraped up enough cash to buy a set of 10x50 ELs. BUT I've turned into a chicken when it comes to plunking down that much cash on a piece of hunting kit. Should I go through with it? You thoughts are appreciated.
    Personally, I think the Vortex are a better option for the money. I've seen both in the field, and my opinion is that there is not a marked difference in the Vortex vs. the Swaro when it comes to binoculars... but when you're talking spotter - that's another story.

I wouldn't put down the money on Swarovskis until you've looked through a set of Vortex. After getting my wife a set last year, I'm sold on them.

another vote for vortex- was in same spot, not knowing what to buy. Wanting best glass for the $$. Bought a pair of Vortex HD & although we have diff pairs- they are the faves for my family. ( we have a small pr of steiner, pentax, leupold & an older set of leica)

Quote Originally Posted by BlueDuck View Post