Thread: hip waders or chest waders fall river float bear hunt

Default hip waders or chest waders fall river float bear hunt

I will be coming to Alaska during the last week of August in 2016 to do a river float Brown Bear hunt my outfitter uses lacrosse hip waders.The guide that will be taking me uses chest waders neoprene feet and river boots with rubber soles.I have never used either and am looking for ideas, suggestions and brands.Is neoprene waterproof? Am I going to have any issues with cold feet and is one better to walk in?

I have been using Simms pant waders for a few years now on float hunts. They work amazing, and keep the heat in on those really cold days. I had one problem with hole, then sent them in. They replaced them for me with only shipping costs. I will use them from here on out, just get a good wader shoe.

Joe

If you can manage to bring both, I would bring both, because there is a time and a place for both. But if I could only bring one, I would choose chest waders with good wading boots over hip boots. Hip boots are nice for hiking a far distance from the river in search of game. Chest waders are more useful while traveling up and down the river and for climbing in and out of the boat. I've hunted out of my chest waders before, but you have a tendency to overheat and sweat in them. But, hip boots have only a limited usefulness in and around the boat.

Quote Originally Posted by jojomoose View Post
    I have been using Simms pant waders for a few years now on float hunts. They work amazing, and keep the heat in on those really cold days. I had one problem with hole, then sent them in. They replaced them for me with only shipping costs. I will use them from here on out, just get a good wader shoe.

Joe
    Agreed. This is all I use for my moose and bear hunts. I usually keep them rolled down to my waist and wear them like pants.