Thread: Can I legally carry a fixed blade pocket knife?

Default Can I legally carry a fixed blade pocket knife?

I've been considering getting a small fixed blade knife (2-3" blade) to carry in my pocket in place of my current folder. I've found older information about concealed carrying knives but nothing current?

Does anyone know if we can carry a blade that size concealed or where I could find the law? I live in Anchorage and understand that may add a layer of complexity to the question.

Thanks,
    Brian

Hm.. I would think if one could carry a concealed handgun they could also carry a concealed knife.

I'm curious now too...
    I am serious... and don't call me Shirley.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KM2K7sV-K74

CCW... Concealed Carry WEAPON... unless things have changed, a CCW permit allows a legal weapon up to and including a firearm, to be carried concealed.

I am not a lawyer and I have not read the statute lately, FYI.

There is a several hundred $$ fine if you do not declare you have a gun when approach by a officer I think that would also apply to any concealed weapon.

Quote Originally Posted by MacGyver View Post
    There is a several hundred $$ fine if you do not declare you have a gun when approach by a officer I think that would also apply to any concealed weapon.
    That's lame...so you're walking down the street and a uniform officer is walking toward you and you gotta yell out "I have a gun"...gotta be more to it than that. If you get pulled over for speeding or anything it's always a good idea to let the officer know you are armed regardless of what you may be carrying. How the officer/trooper or whatever handles it is up to him...over course, local laws may vary so check on them before carrying.
    Somewhere along the way I have lost the ability to act politically correct. If you should find it, please feel free to keep it.