Thread: More shrimpin questions?

1250 miles S/O paradise in the lwr 48 dreaming of SE AK

Default More shrimpin questions?

I have procured 3 shrimp pots they are constructed from some square coated about 1" wire mesh. They were pretty light so I added some weight bars to them. I am going to be shrimping in the Ketchikan area. I have bought a 1800' roll of 5/16" sinking line. I have been told to run 600' of line. My question is should I cut this line into smaller shots and then link them together it seems like 600' of line in one piece will be hard to manage? I was thinking if I cut them into several shots I would make them 25 fathoms each with a large spliced eye in each end to easily link the shots back together. I have a capstan type pot puller. I know the connection points of the shots will pass through the capstan I have a lot of experience running capstans (electric Lineman for 23 years).

I have my crab pots rigged this way but I am only using 10 fathom shots with my crab pots. Most of the time crabing I crab inside the bays or rivers of Oregon & Washington so 10 fathoms is plenty but when I do drop them in the ocean I just add a second or third shot to the pot but never anything like a 100 fathom chunk of line. I just don't want to cut the line into smaller shots if that is not a good way to do it. I guess if it doesn't work out I could just end splice it back together.

I have also not made up my mind if I should run a separate rope for each pot or string the 3 on one line. I have experience with rope and splicing and running capstans but I have never shrimped before.

I leave for Ketchikan in less than 2 weeks so I am just trying to get all my gear ready.

Thanks Mike

Thumbs up Hey, a line hand

Gundog,
    I am just learning to shrimp also. I am also a lineman (27 yrs). I went out 2 weeks ago and threw my pots in for the first time. I had done it before, but always had an experienced hand around.