Thread: 40 Mile Air/Jetboil use.

Default 40 Mile Air/Jetboil use.

Flying out with 40 Mile Air this year and was curious what others used for a stove. I've been using my Jetboil but FAA says you can't fly with Jetboil or similar fuel cans so I'm looking for an alternative. It's a 12 day hunt so I might forgo stove altogether but they can be nice at times. I've looked into the adapters that will allow you to use the green Coleman propane but I have no experience on how well they work. If anyone has any suggestions or what you have used when flying out with 40 Mile or other air charters I'd appreciate hearing it.

If you are flying in a float plane, they can put the fuel canisters (and also bear spray) in the floats.
    "The North wind is cold no matter what direction it's blowing"

Quote Originally Posted by DannerAK View Post
    If you are flying in a float plane, they can put the fuel canisters (and also bear spray) in the floats.
    I don't think the pressurized Butane canisters are allowed in the floats either. you can carry 5 gallons of gas on the plane but not the little butane canisters...doesn't make sense.
    when I flew with 40 mile air for our moose hunt, we used a MSR whisperlite white gas stove. you are allowed to fly with the white gas in the floats too. we used about 3/4 gallon for 2 guys for 10 days in cold weather.

Yeah I won't be flying on floats and was wanting to avoid white gas but that might be the route we've got to go. Thanks guys.

Quote Originally Posted by fish-hunter View Post
    I don't think the pressurized Butane canisters are allowed in the floats either.
    Interesting. I've flown out with 2 different charters in the last 2 years and they had us put our jetboil butane fuel in the floats.
    "The North wind is cold no matter what direction it's blowing"